Crossroads

“Let’s break up?”

“Let’s break up.”

 

 

“You’ll be in the same hospital as Shona? That’s awesome! It’ll be nice to have a friend during PG.”

“She’ll be my senior. And in an entirely different department. I doubt if we’ll even get to meet much.”

“Nonsense! Of course, you will. If she doesn’t meet you, tell me. I’ll take care of it.”

She laughed. “I love you, Nishu!”

“I know. I know. Now, don’t you go getting back together with her and forgetting all about me.”

“Of course, I won’t! You’re my soulmate. My one and only. We’re engaged, aren’t we?”

“Yeah. Remember that…darling!”

 

 

“Maybe, we should take a break. Try it out and see if it makes a difference.”

“That’s a good idea. Let’s take a break.”

 

 

“Shona’s boyfriend?”

“Yep. He’s my colleague. Same department. Same year.”

“Her current boyfriend?”

“Yep. Small world, huh?”

“Gives an entirely new definition to the term, I’d say. She hooked up with him after she broke up with you?”

“Yeah. They met during her internship apparently. He’s nice.”

“Huh. Is he really?”

“Yeah, he actually is. We’re getting along super well.”

“But, are you ok?”

“Of course, I’m ok! Why wouldn’t I be?”

“Are you over her, Micky?”

“It’s been more than a year, Nishu…”

“Yes. But, are you over her?”

“Of course, I am.”

“………………………..”

“You’re worrying over nothing, Nishu.”

 

 

“Something’s missing, isn’t it?”

“Yea…the spark. I feel like it’s gone.”

 

 

“Are they serious?”

“Are who serious?”

“Shona and that boy!”

“His name is Gaurav.”

“I don’t care. I don’t like him.”

“He’s really nice, you know. You’ll like him if you meet him.”

“Well, I’m not gonna meet him and so, I’m not gonna like him. Anyway, are they serious?”

“I guess so. I never asked.”

“Ask!”

“That’s their personal business, Nishu. I have no right to butt in.”

“You’re not butting. You’re just asking. Innocent question. Part of a conversation.”

“I don’t want to make things uncomfortable.”

“Stop being so goody-goody!”

“I’m not. I’m just being normal! Anyway, I gotta go. Bye!”

 

 

“Why’re you so quiet?”

“I can’t think of anything to talk about.”

 

 

“Micky….Sorry…”

“Why are you apologizing?”

“I won’t bug you about them anymore. I promise.”

“Pinkie swear?”

“Pinkie swear!”

“Oh good! Now, listen to what happened this morning….”

 

 

“I can’t remember when we talked last. Are you free this weekend?”

“Only after 7. Call me. I’ll be waiting.”

 

 

“Apparently, his parents want to him get married.”

“To Shona?”

“No. They don’t know about her.”

“Oh! What’re they planning to do then?”

“Shona doesn’t know yet…”

“What the hell? Why not? And why’d he tell you first?”

“Because, we’re friends, Nishu! Anyway, he says he’s got a plan…”

“What sort of plan?”

“He’s going to slip her profile in among the prospective brides and then, pick her out as his choice.”

“Will his parents fall for that?”

“He’s going to use me as a character reference for her since we’re college friends and all and I’m supposed to talk her up.”

“Still…What if his parents don’t agree?”

“I asked him the same thing. He said he’ll do his best to get them to agree. But, if not, he’ll have to go with his parents’ wishes. Only child syndrome.”

“That sucks! How can he be so easy about it?”

“He’s not, really. But, come on. I admire him for it. He’s dealing with it very sensibly!”

“Sensible doesn’t cut it here. He needs a better plan.”

“That I told him too.”

“Why are you telling him that? Are you nuts?”

“Excuse me?”

“If he succeeds, Shona will be married. Are you ok with that?”

“Nishu! You pinkie swore…”

“But, seriously, Micky…”

“Look, I’m not the one who should be ok here. Shona’s not going to like this plan, you know.”

“Yes. Because the plan sucks!”

“No. Because she would hate to start it off with a lie.”

“Really?”

“I know her.”

 

 

“We’ve been talking for 72 minutes and 44 seconds…now 45…now 46…”

“Stop counting! We’ll talk all night long if we want to.”

 

 

“She hated it.”

“The plan?”

“Yes.”

“What’s he gonna do now?”

“Currently, he’s sulking. But, I agree with Shona. You shouldn’t start these things off with a lie.”

“See, you guys agree upon the important things! That’s why you make such a great couple!”

“We’re not a couple anymore. Anyway, listen, Nishu, I think he’s a little pissed off at me too.”

“Why on earth? You were even going along with that ridiculous plan of his?”

“Well, today, we were sitting in the canteen when Shona joined us. He brought up the marriage issue and I was about to make an excuse and leave. But, Shona literally clamped on to my hand and wouldn’t let go! So, I had to stay and on top of that, Shona’s reaction was exactly as I predicted it would be…”

“Why on earth did Shona do that?”

“I don’t know, do I?”

“Weird. But, it’s not your fault you guys are better friends than they are boyfriend and girlfriend.”

“I know. But, I’m feeling a little bad for him, after all.”

“Oh well! If you’re so concerned, go talk to him directly. Maybe, you can tell him your history.”

“How would that help? If anything, that’ll probably make things worse!”

“Yes, it would, wouldn’t it?”

“You don’t need to sound so gleeful! That’s nasty. I’m not in a soap opera, Nishu!”

“When your ex-girlfriend’s current boyfriend becomes your temporary best friend, it is called a soap opera.”

“Why temporary?”

“Because I’m the permanent deal.”

 

“I don’t want to break up. Do you wanna do the long distance thing with me?”

“I do.”

 

“So, what’s the next episode in the soap opera that’s your life?”

“They are not talking to each other.”

“Huh! Shona’s also sulking?”

“Not really. But, he’s still not happy with her and it’s strained; I think she’s giving him space.”

“Is he the kind of boy who appreciates space?”

“I think the space is more for Shona’s sake than him. Shona’s being Shona. I’ve been telling her to buck up and talk things out with him and now, she got all miffed with me too.”

“Oh, Micky, my self-destructive friend, what will I do with you?”

“Marry me and live happily ever after.”

“That’s on the cards already. But, about Shona, I mean.”

“Pinkie swear….”

“Come on, Micky! I know you’re not over her! You know you’re not over her! Why can’t you just admit it?”

“……………………………..”

“Fine! Live in denial!”

“Thank you. I will.”

“Aargh! Micky-baby, listen, the first step is always acknowledging the problem, isn’t it? Don’t you think it’ll be easier to move forward once you admit to your true feelings?”

“…………………… It hurts, Nishu…”

“Honey… Listen, why don’t you come over here next weekend? Away from all the drama…”

“Yeah. Yeah, I think I will. Thank you, Nishu. I love you.”

 

“What do you want for your birthday?”

“You.”

 

“I thought it was going to be just the two of us.”

“That’s what I thought too. But, at the last moment, Shona said she needed to get away… It’s ok, right?”

“I’m fine with it. Shona’s my friend too. Are you ok?”

“Oh, I’m good! All drama aside, she’s still one of my best friends. I love her company.”

“Not more than mine.”

“Not more than yours.”

 

“Wow… It’s beautiful up here! How did you find this place?”

“I searched. For ‘our’ spot.”

 

“She still likes you.”

“No, she doesn’t.”

“She does! I’m sure of it! And it explains everything! Her behaviour, her reluctance for marriage-talk, her reaction to that boy!”

“No, it doesn’t. You just haven’t seen them both together.”

“But, I’ve seen you two together and you’re still into each other. Mikisha! Be honest, do they make a better couple than you two do?”

“I can’t answer that! And anyway, it doesn’t matter. She’s with him now and I’m not such a lovesick puppy as to pine over her every new relationship. Give me some credit, Nishu!”

“Fine! Be proud! And later, when you’re an old spinster sitting alone on a Saturday night, go on a date with that pride too!”

“I will!”

“Fine!”

“Fine!”

 

“I just had the worst day! Everything that could possibly go wrong went wrong… Except you. You’re perfect.”

“I know. I’m perfect. For you.”

 

“He’s getting married.”

“What?!”

“I know. I was shocked too.”

“But, they didn’t even make up!”

“Yeah. Apparently, she called him last night to break it off and he told her the news.”

“Wow…That’s cold.”

“Yeah. But, she doesn’t seem too broken up over it… But then, it’s Shona. She never seems broken up over anything.”

“She was broken up when you guys fought.”

“No…not really…”

“She was. Anyway, she’s not broken up right now, because she likes you.”

“Will you stop?”

“Yes, when you both admit it, I’ll stop.”

“Which means never?”

“Oh, I’m sure it’ll happen soon.”

“You’re underestimating our collective pride, I see.”

“Nope, I’m correctly estimating your collective horniness.”

“Bitch.”

“Love you too.”

 

“I lurrrve youuuu…”

“You’re drunk. But, I love you too.”

 

“He said- I’m not homophobic, but I’m angry you hid it from me for so long; then, handed us the wedding card.”

“Fair enough. All of a sudden, I’m liking him a lot.”

“Well, it’s not the sort of thing you slip in with a hello… Hi, I’m Mikisha; I’m gay and your girlfriend used to be my girlfriend?!”

“Oh! But, that’s an introduction he would’ve remembered for the rest of his life! Anyway, how’re things with you two?”

“We have been spending a lot of time together. But…”

“Just get drunk and talk it out.”

“Yes, I think it’s time to do that.”

 

“How can we make a date seem more like a date and less like two girls hanging out?”

“Should we make out at the bar?”

 

“What happened? What happened? What happened?”

“You were right about our collective horniness.”

“Yes, yes. But, apart from that?”

“Why’re you so interested in this anyway?”

“That’s a stupid question! Because I love you and Shona is my friend and you guys are perfect for each other! Do you realise how many hearts were broken when you two broke up?”

“Two?”

“Don’t be sassy with me, young lady! Now, tell me, what happened?”

“Yes, grandma. We drank, we talked, we made out at the bar; that’s all.”

“And?”

“And…we’re back together.”

“For real?”

“For real.”

 

“I like you. As in more than a friend kind of like.”

“If you mean you jerk off while thinking of me, then, I like you too.”

 

“When are you reaching?”

“Our flight lands at 7.30. Are you gonna be picking us up?”

“I’m sending a car. Where’s Shona?”

“She’s currently telling the guy her parents wanted her to meet that she’s gay. And introducing me as the girlfriend. (Hello, I’m Mikisha, Shona’s girlfriend.)”

“What’s his face like now?”

“I feel cruel.”

“That’s ok. Her parents are not taking it well then?”

“Nope. They still think it’s a phase. Maybe I should get my folks to talk to them.”

“Yeah. Anyway, my parents sure are glad after hearing about you two. Even if he is from the South, I’m still marrying a guy.”

“Sure…what are best friends for?”

“I’m glad we agree. Anyway, get here soon. There’s so much more shopping to do!”

“You think you’re making a compelling argument, but, you’re not.”

“Fine. Send Shona here. You’ll be useless anyway!”

“Traitor!”

“Monkey!”

“You’re losing your touch.”

“I know. Get here soon.”

 

“Marry me.”

“It’s illegal”

“So what?”

“…………………I’m free next weekend.”

 

*END*

Leave a Reply

