Don’t Let Me Go

I want to run to you

So, you can hug me

Hold me in your arms

And not let go for a long time.

 

I want to run to you

So you can hold my hand

And my head on your chest

I will listen to your heart beat

Like a child at its mother’s breast

And you will tell me it’ll all be okay

Everything will turn out alright.

 

I want to run to you

So, you can keep me safe

You can keep me contained

From all that’s out there

The dangers, the temptations

The crooks and the charmers

The bad decisions waiting for me

To make my call and ride myself to hell.

 

I want to run to you

Because you know me

Yet, you judge me not

You know my ills, my pitfalls

Yet, you stand by me and be my friend.

 

I want to run to you

Because you seem to keep my world

From collapsing

You seem to hold the wrecking ball

Off for a little while longer.

 

I want to run to you

Because you told me one night

That you love me

And you’ll be there for me.

 

I want to run to you

Because I need you now

I want you to hug me

And not let go for long, long time.

 

*END*

Leave a Reply

