I fail, Mother.

I keep trying to write about you

A description

A story

A one liner

An epigram

I fail

 

I keep trying to put to paper

What I mean to you

What you mean to me

I fail

 

I write about the world

About things in the world

About people in the world

I write about family

About friends, boyfriends

About work, play and life in between

Even about death and life after

But, then I turn the page over

Put my pen down and think of you

Try to conjure up words for you

To describe you, to catch you in print

In a few strokes of ink, in a picture with letters…

I try to paint you, mother…

 

I fail.

Leave a Reply

