Dreams

Horizons pink and purple
Looking pretty, enticing
Seducing
Promises of riches
Greatness
Of fame and repute
And respect

Draws you in
Sucks you dry
Makes you question
Doubt
Second guess yourself
Holds you in its palm
Laughs at your pain
At your confusion
Mocks
And scorns
And pities too…

Strews thorns in your path
Covers with lush petals
And pebbles in the soft sand
To walk on
Bare foot
Accepts nothing but the craziest
Of all those
Fools
Tempted by glory
Teased with malice
Threatened by failure
Tortured with trials
By fire

We all started
With a dream
The dream of dreams
The dreams of dreams
Of glory, of passions
Of riches, of repute
Of all this and much more

More
More
More
And it brought me here
To the brink of sanity
To the edge of ruin
My dream, dream of dreams,
Dreams of dreams
Must you torment me so?

Picture1

You keep me on the hook
Feed me enough to keep me
Going
Teach me enough
Push me enough
To reach the next trial
By fire
You make me pale
Shudder
Spend every waking minute
In preparation
Of the next hurdle
Next storm
To be weathered
You give me just enough rope
To hope with
Or maybe,
To hang myself with?

My breathing slows
My legs don’t kick
Anymore
I rest…I rest…
Rest
…Rest
……Rest

Oh dream…my dream
Dream of dreams…
Dreams of dreams…

Must you torment me so?

*END*

 

 

Leave a Reply

